Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

t is certainly true that with the recent breakthroughs in technology people now are able to live much longer than before. In this essay, I'll discuss the perceived benefits and drawbacks of this trend and prove that the disadvantages are superior. One of the main advantages is that the elderly can help youngsters with their experience in life because nowadays, people often need role models and mentors to embark on their journey whether in their personal or professional life; therefore, old individuals are the ones suited for this task. Moreover, companies and corporate could get an advantage from their old employees, especially that the industry market is highly competitive and factories need competent staff; thus, those particular workers would help educate and form new recruits, for instance, in France, Peugeot corporate demand from its labour before retirement to train at least 10 new employees. Despite the obvious appeal, there are various cons to this trend, one of them is that the number of citizens who are on pension will increase dramatically; hence, the government will look for ways to fund their budget, and one way to do that is by imposing extra taxes on adults and this will definitely mean extra burden on taxpayers. Furthermore, it will also lead to additional pressure on the healthcare system as old citizens need therapy more than others, as a result, local councils would be in a delicate situation as they have to find the proper funding for those institutions, and for these reasons, I believe that the cons of this tendency outweigh the pros. To conclude, I would argue that the disadvantages of having an ageing population surely surpass the advantages.