Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

An increasing number of persons with health challenges are visiting traditional medicines instead of utilizing modern health services.In my opinion, I believe that this is a negative trend. To begin, there are several disadvantages of using traditional medicines and one of them is that their drugs have unexplainable side effects because they are not scientifically tested. This means that the majority of these medications do not have leaflets which usually contain the dosage,constituent,side effects and adverse effects compared to the Western medicines. As a result, the users end up with severe complications.To illustrate, I watched a documentary on the British Broadcasting Corporation (B.B.C) which shows that 80% of persons who patronize traditionalists in the rural parts of Zimbabwe end up with ulcerative colitis. In addition, another negative effect of alternative medicines is that the practitioners are not well-trained. What I mean is that, these traditionalists work with herbs and a large number of them do not know the scientific rationale behind their treatments. As a result, they tend to diagnose wrongly and treatments are not effective. For example, a survey I read online recently reveals that it takes about 2 months for traditionalists in Uganda to treat an acute ailment. In conclusion, due to the severe side effects that occur with the patronage of alternative,medicine I believe that it is a negative trend.