People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that the behaviors of people in shopping are shaped by how old they are more than anything else. This essay completely disagrees with this view because other factors, such as the advancement of media and technology and individual interest, have more impact on shopping habits. Let us delve into this debate. First and foremost, the increase in global media and technological innovations promotes the marketing of several products in virtual spaces. This makes it easier for anyone (in the world) with an internet connection or TV set to see and even research about them. This way, people are drawn to consider buying these products by their proliferation online more than their age groups. For example, in the United States of America, studies have revealed that many people, young and old, like purchasing sportsware because of the screening of different sporting activities like cricket, basket ball and soccer on TV. Secondly, it is also important to highlight that whether an individual buys things or not is because of their interests and disinterests. When the individual has no interest in something, it does not matter which age group they belong to. They will not buy it. For instance, i have seen my 5 year old daughter refuse to eat pizza despite many children in her age group always demanding their parents to buy it. Hence, this shows that age is a lesser factor than interest in determining shopping habits. In conclusion, therefore, this essay has totally refuted the notion that age is a central force in determining shopping habits of people. It argued that other factors, such as individual interest and technological advancement, are more influential shaping whether individuals buy certain products or not.