New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, the activities conducted during leisure time by children have drastically changed over the period because of technical advancement. This essay will discuss my complete disagreement that advantages outweigh disadvantages with reasons extensively in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence, the preponderant reason behind my outlook is that it has a negative effect on the brain development of children. To expound, in the current scenario, younger kids are highly dependent upon technical gadgets as a source of entertainment and are glued to their phone screens, consequently, they hardly go outside and communicate with other individuals, which overall hinders their social development because ‘play’ is imperative for young one’s brain growth. In contrast, in the past, kids used to allot at least 60 minutes to play which helped them grow physically and mentally. For instance, as per a recent survey conducted by a childcare organization, it has been claimed that the growing generation lacks many critical skills for survival that could have only been developed if kids would have played and communicated with their peers. Thus, the aforementioned reason elucidates how these gadgets are impacting adversely. Moving further, another pivotal aspect is the detrimental impact of these devices on a child’s overall growth. To explicate, a young fellow is not mature enough to understand the criticality of not visiting a few restricted websites, and out of curiosity, they started visiting those sites and eventually become addicted to those sites. As a result of that, they hit puberty at a very early age even when their bodies are not ready for those changes, however, it was not the case earlier when these gadgets were restricted to elders only. For example, an internet website provided data where it was informed that a large proportion of their memberships are by juveniles who claim themselves to be adults. Hence, the abovementioned example substantiates its effect on kids’ growth. To conclude, the excessive usage of technical devices by children is worsening the situation as it is not only hampering their brain development but also proving itself an obstacle to their overall growth. In my perspective, parents should not hand these devices to their children as an escape strategy, because though it doesn’t seem that detrimental from the outside, it has a severe deep impact on their child’s development.