New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, due to the expansion of technology, children tend to have the propensity of changing the way they spend their leisure time. This essay will analyze why I believe that while there are numerous advantages to this trend, the demerits will definitely overshadow the benefits. On the one hand, the appearance of technology has offered children several values. Since they enable children to have the opportunities to be developed comprehensively through different kinds of educational apps and games. Just by a simple mouse click or a touch on the screen, they can effortlessly figure out the reasonable answers for their wonders, which will broaden their mindset beyond the lessons that they have learned at school. Additionally, modern platforms give children more lively and interesting lessons like colorful cartoons or comedies. Therefore, there is no doubt that they boost children ’s creativity, curiosity and imagination, then youngsters will find the process of acquiring knowledge more appealing than ever before. On the other hand, this phenomenon has many unbearable downsides above the merits mentioned that should be worried about. The primary reason is that as entertaining programs and especially video games are extremely attractive, children are more likely to be addicted to them. As a result, they spend most of their free time in front of the screen, gradually having a sedentary lifestyle, which can cause many dangerous health diseases such as obesity, short-sightedness AND autism. Moreover, children are easily affected by harmful and toxic contents on the Internet or through violent games. This will create a favorable environment for erroneous thoughts and behaviors because children still may not be able to draw the distinction between rights and wrongs. In conclusion, I would restate that the advantages related to acknowledging new things in a more effective way by technology are eclipsed by various disadvantages associated with health problems and poisonous issues.