In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some can argue that the future of printed media and literature is bleak because people tend to like to read newspapers or books that are available for free online. While it is true that there are many free resources available online nowadays, the argument can be refuted. In this essay, I will illustrate the reasoning for my disagreement with the opinion. First, many online newspapers and books are not free because services that facilitate that still need revenue to keep themselves running. News and books are now available online, however, the firms and the authors still need to support themselves to provide the services. As a consequence, subscription programs are rolled out and books are now also sold in online marketplaces. For instance, in most news portals, you can only access up to 3 articles before having to pay to subscribe for more. Second, printed newspapers and books still exist because companies want to cater to older generations. Senior citizens usually are not technology-savvy, so they might not know how to operate smartphones or access the internet to keep up with new information or purchase books they are interested in. Because companies still want to cater to this category, we can see that newspapers are still available in both printed and online versions. This would enable older people to access the articles in the old-fashioned method. In conclusion, there are two reasons to oppose the opinion that people will not buy printed sources of information and shift to those free online in the future. One might be because the firms and authors generating the newspapers and books still require revenue to provide the services and themselves. This results in the shift towards subscription based-systems and online sales. Another reason is that media companies and authors might still want to reach out to older audiences who might not be adept at using technology. For these reasons, I argue that there will still be interest towards printed newspapers and books in the future.