Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

An educated population can make the world a better place as well as can lead a highly- successful and meaningful life while the opposite might be true for the uneducated people.Illiteracy in today’s world mainly stems from two factors and has several ill effects not only on the individuals but also on the general community. This will be discussed here. Perhaps, one the first problem could be access to quality education. This is due to the expensive fee structure of the private institutes which will make education less affordable. Examples of this cause can be seen mostly in the developing countries like India and Africa. Moreover, the lack of quantity as well as quality educational centers in the remote areas exacerbates the illiteracy and poverty rate worldwide. For example, in the south american countries like Argentina and Brazil. The First and foremost probable effect observed on uneducated pupils and the population is irresponsible behaviour towards other people and the environment like causing overpopulation or destroying nature, irrespective of the consequences. Additionally, there is a high probability that an uneducated individual might do criminal activities and misconduct which will eventually affect their lives and make them regret their actions and lead to a depressive life. This can add a lot of stress on the community and lead to regress in their development. In a nutshell, it seems like affordability and reachability of education are prime contributors to illiteracy causing ill effects on the population as well as the community like engaging in illegal activity and hindering the prosperity of the society, respectively.