Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A great number of nations across the world are endeavouring to achieve growth of their economies to make people's lives better. However certain social values disappear in the course of development. My opinion is that this situation results in more drawbacks than benefits. The major downside is that the environment will be degraded. Manufacturers are profit-oriented and make all efforts to produce more and reduce operational costs which leads to their lack of social responsibility. What they do is that they keep discharging unprocessed wastewater into waterways such as rivers lakes, and oceansand emitting large quantities of poisonous gases to pollute the air. Another disadvantage is that people become too self-centred and unkind. The world has been altered to a place where money is highly valued. Many people focus on earning money showing less sympathy and seldom giving a hand to those in need of help. For instance, some rich company owners believe that they are superior to others. They do not care about their employees' well-being but exploit them by getting them to work longer. However, the advantages cannot be ignored, one of which is that people's quality of life is guaranteed. Taxes paid by individuals and businesses are a stable source of government revenue, making it possible for the construction of infrastructure including roads bridges and airports. Also more money can be invested in science and technology so that diseases can be prevented and radically cured, and people's everyday life can become much easier. In conclusion, I believe that there are more challenges arising from losing social values owing to economic advancement than benefits. Although people can enjoy a high standard of living environmental issues and people being unsympathetic appear. Therefore, it is recommended that programmes using the media and school education be developed to mitigate the adverse impact on social values.