The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that doing team sports is the ideal way to let children learn how to collaborate. I can understand the benefits of team sports. However, other methods are as good as or better than involving in team sports to make children understand how to play a role with other team members. Playing team sports, which has a lot of familiar elements as teamwork, needs children to work together to win the game. For example, during a basketball game, pupils must pass the basketball to their team members so that people with open shots can get the score. In this situation, children must work together to win the game. If anyone wants to be the only hero in team competitions and tries hard to shoot the ball without collaborating with teammates, they may make their team lose the game, making themselves the culprit of losing the game. Also, children need to play different roles in a sports game. When performing various functions within the game, kids can learn to do their jobs well while coordinating with others. Thus, letting children play team sports is a good way for them to understand collaboration. On the other hand, some activities are more helpful for youngsters to gain knowledge of cooperation. Assigning students to work on team projects, for instance, is a popular and recognized way for schools to facilitate children ’s ability to work as a team because when they work on the projects, they need to discuss and arrange each one’s work, thus improving their communication and coordination skills, which are essential elements for cooperation. Furthermore, playing board games or acting in a drama together positively impacts teamwork skills. So, except for sports involving group participation, there are many engagements that benefit children ’s sense of teamwork. In conclusion, while playing team games can help kids learn how to cooperate, I believe various ways can substitute it. Thus, we cannot just say it’s the best approach.