Although most people are richer than in the past, modern life seems very stressful, and the number of people suffering from stress is at record levels. What are the main causes of stress in modern life, and how could stress be reduced?

Nowadays, life is becoming more complex and stressful. Despite the fact that people are more prosperous than they used to be years ago, not only has the level of stress not been reduced, but also it has increased significantly. I am going to examine the reasons for the origin of stress and ways to fight it. First of all, a key factor of a stressful life is overpopulation in cities and towns, especially in megapolises. The main feature of the last century is urbanization, which has led to thousands of people moving to cities. Unfortunately, the pace at which towns are modernised and developed can be lower than the pace at which the population grows. Therefore public transport such as metro, trams and buses are usually overcrowded, causing annoyance among people. Other problems are heavy traffic and extremely high renting costs that make people's life much harder and depressing. In my opinion, this problem can be solved only with the support of the government, which should finance the development of infrastructure and give incentives for house purchases. Secondly, an overload of information is another cause of stress these days. Due to the gadgets almost everyone can access the internet, where all kinds of news are available. The major problem is that the more information we get the harder for us to filter distorted facts. For instance, there are millions of media chats and groups in Telegram, VK, and even Instagram. Some of the news can be frightening and depressing resulting in higher levels of stress. To tackle this issue it is important to unsubscribe chats or leave groups with news in order to reduce the amount of information we get every day. Finally, people have forgotten about the balance of work and life. The majority of the population works at least nine hours a day from five to six, which takes approximately one-third of the daytime. As a result, people just do not have enough time for their hobbies or family. Personally, I think that meditation can become a solution. For example, a person can listen to relaxing music or mantras while commuting. To sum up, life has a habit of becoming harder every day. In spite of the fact that people's incomes grow, stress does not go away due to different factors. However, there are lots of ways to decrease stress and nervousness.