Tourism is growing in many parts of the world, particularly in developing countries. To what extent does this trend benefit the countries and their people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is clear that tourism has become a popular global leisure activity thanks to advancements in technology like online payment systems or remote booking. Although the trend has been associated with some negative impacts on the environment, it still benefits numerous countries and their people to a great extent. Increased tourists can be beneficial to a country in many different ways. First, tourism can make a significant contribution to the economy of a country since it can generate income all year long. For example, tourism accounts for approximately 40% of the national economy in Maldives, ensuring its economic security and stability every year. Second, historical sites and beautiful scenery are usually the main draws for visitors, and therefore, protecting these sites becomes the government's top priority. This means stricter laws and regulations will be put in place to prevent property damage or vandalism in order to safeguard these locations, contributing to cultural conservation. Furthermore, the trend is also beneficial to local residents in a variety of ways. Local residents and businesses are able to benefit from the income arising from increased tourists. For instance, since most people in Phu Quoc, a popular destination in Vietnam, work in the tourism industry and become more reliant on the traffic of visitors, the trend can help improve the quality of their lives significantly by providing more employment and higher incomes. In addition, tourism has the special ability to bring together people from various nations, backgrounds, cultures and traditions. This develops mutual understanding and unification among humans, which may have long-lasting social effects. In short, increased tourists can be beneficial to a nation and its residents to a large extent. I believe that governments should make an effort to make adequate investments in tourism since it can help ensure stable growth for both individuals and nations.