These days in some countries an increasing number of young adults are choosing their whole weekends inside homes. Why do you think it is happening ? Is this a positive or negative development?

Over the last two or three decades, how people live their life has changed drastically. Nowadays, they spend most of their time at home. In many countries, youngsters choose to spend weekends at home rather than going outside. While I understand the positive implications of this change but I believe this is an overall negative development. To start with, why adolescents ignore going outside is the advancements in technology. Individuals prefer to spend their holidays watching movies or playing video games in the comfort of their homes. Moreover, in this modern era, young people are addicted to phones and they keep scrolling through their smartphones. Furthermore, they have a lot of pressure of study or work during weekdays, so they want to relax and energize themselves for the next week. Another worth considering factor is the insecurities of parents. Young people are in the stage of growing and experiencing new things. Parents feel insecure about their younger ones and do not let them go outside because, In this stage, they can be easily influenced by others. For instance, when they go outside to play, they will meet new people and make friends without being aware of their character and background, therefore, there are chances that they may trap in a bad zone. On the other hand, there is an argument that staying home can strengthen the bond of young people with their families. They spend their weekends at home with their parents to make a change and can discuss some family matters sitting together. To conclude, young minds prefer to stay home for their comfort, and relaxation, and because of the boundaries of their families. personally, I think this is a largely negative development.