People living in 21st century have a better life quality than the people who lived in the previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In spite of certain regressions, it is widely claimed that the 21st century is a century for advancement in most aspects. In general, I believe the living standard now has improved significantly compared to the past centuries. To begin with, the current period has witnessed the introduction of modern technologies that have made human lives more comfortable than ever before. This can be reflected in the extensive use of communication technology and the flexibility of performing everyday tasks, such as shopping, banking, and even business transactions online. Similarly, the widespread use of robots and machinery in domestic and industrial environments has liberated manual labour to a large extent.  An equally important role has been played by the revolution in the field of medical science in improving the quality of living in this century. Medical breakthroughs have not only provided drugs and treatments for some of the most debilitating diseases, such as cancer but have also prolonged life expectancy by boosting body function with protein and vitamin supplements. Besides, modern life is equipped with advanced medical care services, such as hospitals and medical facilities, which are particularly important for the elder. Nevertheless, the 21st century is also marked by both the recognition and creation of a host of environmental problems. Greenhouse gases are accelerating rapidly and changing the climate, which causes much higher temperatures, rising sea levels, and extreme weather events. As climate change intensifies, along with the increase in deforestation and pollution, biodiversity is threatened. Therefore, the world now bears the burden of resolving these problems and preventing the emergence of more for the sake of future generations. In conclusion, the developments in the new millennium do improve living quality in different dimensions, but people should also shoulder responsibilities to provide a sustainable future for our planet.