In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is believed that certain countries are swapping physical stores with virtual ones. In an era of globalisation, I strongly believe that this comes as a positive and welcome development because it reduces the hustles of shopping and boosts small to medium business endeavours. I will discuss these issues below. First and foremost, many people globally have always faced challenges while going out of their homes to buy groceries, clothes and other items. That is because of poor and expensive transport systems, and the state of crowdedness of stores in certain places. Imagine, for example, having to shop around for goods in China or India. It is a nightmare because these Asian countries are totally crowded. Therefore, online shops make it easier and reduce hustles. Secondly, small businesses have historically failed to compete with bigger firms due to the limited space for marketing their products. This challenge pushes them to the doldrums, at the periphery of the business world. However, with the emergence of digital marketing, which has gained traction in many nations, small business owners have the opportunity to compete with global brands and sell their products beyond their local territories. For instance, in contemporary Africa, local entrepreneurs sell their products directly to Asia and Europe, but could not afford to do that in the past. Credit goes to their online shops. In conclusion, therefore, this essay totally supports the argument that online shopping replacing shopping in stores is a very positive development because it makes shopping easier and allows local businesses to take advantage of digital marketing.