Libraries should focus on improving their technological resources rather than in building a larger collection of paper books. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancements made in technology, there has been a change in people’s reading habits. It is generally believed that libraries’ focus should be on the development of technological resources instead of enlarging the collection of printed sources. I totally disagree with this for two main reasons. One of the reasons why I disagree is that a reduction in the production of paper books can leave the originality of the work at risk. Printed books not only contain information about a specific sphere or topic, but also, reflect the culture and the era they are produced. They can give a sense of the designs, or the materials used for books by publishers of the time, which might arouse enthusiasm in readers as they can touch and feel while reading. Take manuscripts as examples, which are often admired by fans because of the authenticity of the content that has never been changed by other authors. Hence, copying them into a digital form can impact the reputation of libraries where rare sources are often believed to be kept in physical form. However, I admit that modern ways of preserving materials can create certain advantages like compressed files, minimal space, and expenses. However the convenience and portability of physical sources make libraries popular among the users where they can feel these. They can check the books out and use them at home according to personal timetables or due to the compact size they can even take them to places where they are truly free and comfortable. In contrast, electronic sources are not always allowed to be copied or used outside the library premises. Moreover, online books cause more harm to human health than their physical counterparts, which can especially be seen in the deterioration of eyesight because of excessive screen time. In conclusion, although a few benefits are possible through the development of technological resources, I fully disagree that this should be at the cost of sources in printed forms.