Governments spend an enormous amount of money on renovations of old buildings in large cities. Some believe that this money can be better spent on building new houses and developing roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In today's world, the establishment spends a huge amount of funding on renovations of traditional buildings. However, some individuals tend to claim that the construction of up-to-date apartments and advancing roads for this money would be a wiser decision. I partially agree with the viewpoint as prioritizing the renewal of old buildings would bring a myriad of advantages. On the one hand, it is crystal clear that the population is expanding from day to day, therefore, to prevent this pressing issue, the presence of new constructions is required. By accomplishing so, the authorities could develop the infrastructure systems of the cities. In supplement, politicians would kill two birds with one stone because, within the expansion of the region, there will be built more enduring roads, which in case, can improve the transportation networks. For instance, in Aktau, in 2015, the government decided to realise the aforementioned alterations and as a result, the city increased twofold in its size. On the flip side, the remake of the long-established architecture would have some remarkable advantages. One of them is that the officials could reduce the amount of funding because there would be used less raw materials and energy. The preservation of cultural and historical heritage can be considered another merit. For example, in Rome, the government made a strict law regarding the infrastructure, where the construction of new buildings is banned due to its concern about changing the rich culture of the town. Ultimately, governments should not only build some advanced erections but also preserve the historical heritage of classic houses.