In some culture, children are often told that they can achieve anything if the try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Hard work has often been considered one of the most determining factors contributing to any achievement in many cultures over the past few decades. Although there are many advantages for children related to this idea, I believe there are a few major downsides as well. Promoting hard work can be advantageous for young people in many different ways. First, hard work is key to sharpening mental strength. For example, if obese children want to gain ideal weight loss goals, they would have to follow strict diets and healthy lifestyles every single day for a long period of time, which improves their willpower and self-regulate, traits often observed in high achievers. Second, if young people really try hard enough to achieve something, they will build more concrete confidence that can guide them through difficult times and adversities in life. In fact, when they believe in themselves and appear confident in challenging situations, they will perform much better than when they are worried, leading to higher chances of success. On the other hand, the suggestion might have many potential disadvantages because it appears harmful to the young to a certain extent. Working hard doesn't always pay off since there are many other possible factors contributing to a final result, such as personal traits. For instance, most introverted individuals fail to become best sellers since they are easily worn out when converting with prospects all the time. In addition, diligence without specific goals and purposes can lead to various mental health issues, including stress and depression. In fact, the lack of specific and measurable goals is one of the most common reasons why people fail, regardless of diligence. In conclusion, the suggestion can be advantageous and disadvantageous to a certain extent. However, I believe that the drawbacks seem to outweigh the upsides since effort without clarity would be a disaster.