Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extend do you agree …

The cost of arts is a widely discussed topic nowadays. Some people believe that the government is wasting money on taxpayers when they invest in art to decorate the cities. The belief is that this money could be used for some other projects or to help some people to get off the streets. On one side I would agree that the government should invest more in projects those will benefit poor or homeless people. I think it is more important that everybody has the same chance for a good lifestyle. Unfortunately, if someone loses their job and their house, there is only a little help from the government. Some cities provide housing for those people, but in my, opinion it is more important to invest in a project to give those people a new job so they can afford their own house again if this would be the case the government also has to spend less money over the years on housing for homeless people and could invest more in infrastructure rather than arts. On the other side, art can create a nice and unique picture of different cities. This will also attract tourists from all over the world, which helps local businesses. In conclusion, investing in art is not nearly a waste of money. I would say it is a different kind of investing in local businesses, but it should be levelled out between investing in arts and helping local people. Art is important for tourism, but we should never forget the poor residents of a city.