Some people think sending criminals to prison is an effective way to deal with them. Others think education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are two opposite opinions about how to treat people who commit crimes. Some suggest imprisonment is effective, while others believe education and rehabilitation might be better. In my opinion, I think both are equally important. I will describe my viewpoints in the following paragraphs. Firstly, one significant result that imprisonment can provide is deterring crime and making people who want to commit crimes know the cost and price they need to pay. For example, in many countries, killing civilians would be sentenced to life imprisonment, meaning the culprits would spend the rest of their lives in jail. Most people fear the deprivation of their freedom from being ordinary citizens. Therefore, most countries still have the punishment of imprisonment because of its efficacy. I believe it is still one of the very effective ways to prevent crimes in today’s world. On the other hand, education and rehabilitation can also be a good alternative for custody, reducing the reoccurrence of engaging in unlawful activities. In my country, for instance, drunk driving people must attend sufficient hours of safety sessions to prevent their misbehaviors next time. Moreover, most juvenile delinquency cases are due to a lack of education in school or family. Some youngsters from low-income families don’t have enough educational resources, or their parents are too busy to teach or care for them, making them influenced by unsuitable friends and go astray. Therefore, rehabilitating petty crimes can considerably prevent them from becoming a felony. In conclusion, as mentioned above, I believe that sending criminals to prison and educating them is similarly vital. From my perspective, I don’t think which way is better, and they are all essential ways to lessen crime.