Many cities replace farmlands and parks with houses. Is it positive or negative

A majority of people are indeed living in the urban centres so some parks and farmlands are replaced by commercial housing. To encourage active lifestyles and reasonable resource allocation, in my opinion, those areas should not be occupied by houses, in an effort to gain more benefit for dwellers who live around there. It is true that the increasing housing price has become a major obstacle for many cities to attract investment and talent, which is blamed by tens of millions of inhabitants who suffer from the shortage of housing supply. Therefore, there is no doubt that municipal authorities should add more places for dwellers so that cities can accommodate more populations and enterprises, thus meeting growing needs and fueling the local economy. However, we should ensure enough food for the world’s population to live on. Some experts predict that by the year 2050, the human population will increase by about three billion people by then. Nowadays, many lands that are suitable for raising crops are in use. As a result of it, we should keep farmlands to ensure productivity. As long as we guarantee the production of grain, the cost of food will not rise too fast which will affect the quality of life directly. Although our farming technology develops rapidly, we should not expropriate agricultural land. Furthermore, green land is also an ideal place for exercise, particularly for those who are not interested in indoor sports. Jogging and dancing over there are quite common among elderly citizens these days. In a park with a high greening rate, plants and trees can absorb waste gases and provide green shade, creating a comfortable environment for city dwellers. Those who spend leisure time in the green land can have close contact with nature and make themselves refreshed. Therefore, is not only for greening and beauty but also represents the humanistic care of a city. To conclude, in the process of urban planning and construction, building parks and keeping farmland should be emphasized.