The tendency of news media to focus on problems and emergencies rather than good news has a negative effect on individuals and society. To What extent do you agree or disagree.

In modern times, thanks to our smartphones and 24/7 media cycle, we seem to be constantly bombarded by the news and, unfortunately, most of it is about disasters, attacks and tragedies. It has been argued that this negative focus within media has a detrimental effect not only on individuals but on society as a whole. Personally, I strongly agree and I believe that it will affect people's mental health, behaviour and even the unity of society. In terms of individuals, the effects of this overwhelming amount of bad news in the media manifest changes to our well-being and behaviour. First of all, mental health can suffer. For example, when a person is continuously absorbing news related to crime,accidents and terrorism, for instance, they may begin to feel anxious and fearful. In some cases, people may suffer agoraphobia or panic attacks as a result. The sheer volume of bad news can also lead to feelings of hopelessness or even depression. The other issue is the changes in behaviour that stem from fear. After seeing hours and hours of footage of plane crashes or tsunami destruction, people may feel reluctant to travel or simply try something new. This is a direct result of the media's bad news saturation. Obviously, such impacts also have a knock-on effect throughout society. As fear grows among individuals, so too does animosity, distrust, intolerance and, ultimately, conflict. Take terrorism reports as an example. When incidents such as 9/11 or the 2015 Paris attack occur, the media runs footage constantly, and the coverage continues for days and sometimes even months. In the aftermath of these events, public panic grows, and minority groups unrelated to the incident, suffer attacks and marginalisation. From an economic perspective, this fear-mongering can also lead to financial loss as people crippled by anxiety, go out less and travel less frequently. In conclusion, while it is true that terrible things happen on a daily basis, it's the media's obsession with such tragedy that is problematic. This focus on negativity inevitably has serious effects on individual's mental health and lifestyles, as well as the cohesion of communities.