Students should choose a university major that prepares them as high paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Choosing a university major is one of the most daunting decisions we make in our adult lives as it determines our future and must be made carefully. Some believe that students should choose a major based on financial reward. Personally, I strongly disagree and feel that the choice should be made based on passion rather than income. Contrary to the belief that universities should prepare students for high-paying careers, a person's interest should be the key factor when choosing a major. Indeed, if you do what you love, you never work a day. This means if you want to become a surgeon, for instance, then performing surgeries will not be boring, but a dream come true. The same goes for someone who loves art, working in a gallery each day, surrounded by what you love, will feel like being paid for doing your favourite hobby. So, students should choose to major in an area where they can see themselves being fulfilled and happy. If a high-paying salary comes then it's a bonus. In addition, choosing a major based solely on financial reward rather than fulfilment can lead to a life of misery. We spend most of our lives at work. Even if the salary is exceptional, and you can afford your dream home, holiday and expensive luxuries, who wants to be doing something they don't feel inspired by? Evidence shows that this will lead to stress and regret later in life when you realise money cannot buy happiness. Therefore we should study something that will lead to a path of fulfilment and satisfaction. It is better to look back and be happy with the life we have lived, rather than the money we made. In conclusion, choosing a university major is a huge decision for many people who are just at the beginning of the rest of their lives. It is a decision which can shape their future and therefore should be chosen with care. Although potential salary is an important consideration, I strongly believe that following your dreams rather than living a life of regret should be the guiding factor when making this choice.