We have become a throw-away society, preferring to buy new products rather than reparing the existing items. What do you think are the reasons? How can this trend be reversed?

Presently, the disposal of old items to purchase new gadgets has become pervasive. While some shoppers second this habit, others criticise it. However, I am of the stance that cutting-edge technology is the main culprit behind this unproductive trend and state involvement can be the panacea for it. To embark on, technological development has enticed a number of shopping addicts to acquire the latest gadgets due to the new features they contain. This means that when compulsive buyers realise that a new smartphone is released, they will race to possess it. For example, the latest versions of iPhones have relatively the same characteristics; nevertheless, iPhone users rush to purchase the newest phones due to the allure of power and high social status attached to that particular brand. Hence, what can be inferred is that many consumers are manipulated by international corporations that utilise modern technology. Nonetheless, there are a number of remedies for this. In other words, if concerned bodies and entities levy taxes on new purchases, governments will financially penalise those who attempt to acquire new appliances. For instance, a recent study conducted by several university students at Cairo University revealed that many Egyptians resort to repairing their existing items instead of purchasing new ones due to heavy taxes imposed on the new purchases. Thus, what can be deduced is that not only does heavy taxation benefit repair shops, but it also compels many to be satisfied with their possessions. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that compulsive purchasing is stimulated by state-of-the-art technology. In my view, overconsumption can be mitigated if politicians levy impulsive buyers.