In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, consumers prefer to purchase anything they need in large malls, even they are far from the place they live, and this leads to the close of many local stores. I partially think this is a positive trend and believe local shops can also benefit the general public's life. On the one hand, the tendency to large shopping centres can be positive for themselves because shopping malls can provide better services than local stores. It is undeniable because in most cases, large companies have sufficient capital and value their reputation, thereby, they are willing to establish a specific customer service team to deal with those after-sale problems. The staff in this team are trained to mitigate consumers ' anger by their communication strategy and professional knowledge about the products, which can result in a great experience of consumers even though they find the goods they bought have quality problems. For example, Meci, one of the large shopping mall brands, has call centres all around the world. No matter in what time of day, consumers who have problems can always find someone to help, which can never be achieved by local stores. On the other hand, small local shops are still playing a crucial role in many places, and if those shops are closed, it can cause a negative impact on the people who are living there. That is because local stores can provide convenience to residents in the same town by reducing their time consumption. If consumers only want to buy some daily necessities such as a bag of salt or a bottle of olive oil, there is no need for them to travel a long distance to supermarkets. In contrast, local shops can become their preference in these situations, especially for low-income families with no personal cars. For instance, most people living in the villages of Mexico cannot afford vehicles as their average wage is lower than ten dollars per day, and local shops are the major source of their daily necessities. If those shops are forced to close by shopping malls in the centre of large cities, those individuals can hardly find a place for shopping. In conclusion, from my perspective, the development of large shopping places can be both positive and negative, and it depends on the consumers themselves to decide whether this trend can harm or benefit their life.