In some countries young people are encouraged to work or tavel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Many young people around the world take a year off between finishing high school and beginning university to travel. Although this can have many advantages for young people such as gaining real-life experience, it can also mean falling a year behind academically. In this essay, I will discuss what I consider to be the benefits and drawbacks of taking a gap year. To begin with, taking a gap year after graduating high school can be beneficial before embarking on university studies. Whether it be to travel or work, this would allow young people to become independent and learn more about themselves and their career choices. For example, travelling allows young people to grow through experiencing and overcoming challenges. Work experience provides real-life skills that will help with the theoretical knowledge they will gain in the university. Even if the job is unrelated to future aspirations, learning how to deal with customers, cooperate with colleagues and take on responsibilities are all valuable tools for any student and worker. However, for every positive, there is a negative. One flip side of taking a gap year is being a year behind academically. This means starting one's university program a year later and thus graduating a year later than one's peers. In addition, there might be some financial drawbacks, some scholarships, for instance, do not allow students to defer, so the decision to take a gap year might be at the loss of a grant, which may mean long-term debt. In conclusion, although taking a year off can bring about significant financial and personal benefits, despite the potential problems in terms of academic progress. As long as the individual is aware of their future direction, a gap year can be an extremely rewarding experience.