Some people think that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views.

Advertising has been a crucial part of marketing strategies, as it persuades the public to buy a product but sometimes advertisements can be boring and no longer catch attention. However, I think, if the ad is properly made and sent to the right audience, it could easily convince people to purchase the items. Both sides will be discussed in this essay together with my opinion. In the internet era, commercials are found on almost every platform which sometimes makes people feel irritated and bored to see. Many companies broadcast their items on social media platforms, especially famous ones; for example, youtube. Most of the time, people want to watch full videos with undivided attention but they have been disturbed by ads every 10 minutes or shorter. As a result, instead of wanting to buy the products, the feeling changes into the opposite. Therefore, it becomes less interesting and no longer captivates their mind. On the other hand, if the advertisements are used effectively it can drastically increase product sales for businesses. Some companies study their target customers before launching any media to promote the brand. As a consequence, the media is made specifically to advertise their target group and once the right messages are sent to the right audience, it is easy to persuade them to purchase their goods or services. For example, Apple, their products are mostly phones and tablets. Thus they often do marketing in schools and universities and also design the ads to look interesting for students. These are the reasons why individuals are often persuaded by advertising. In conclusion, even though ads could be boring and uninteresting in some situations, they often lead to business success if they are used wisely. For that reason, I believe that advertising can be very convincing but to get the buyers it needs to be used with effective marketing strategies.