Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantage and disadvantage of solar energy.

In the contemporary world, the demand for alternative energy sources like solar energy is growing exponentially in order to make our planet greener by harnessing the Sun's power. It is my contention that while the major benefits such as global warming, the infinite volume of potentially harnessable energy and cost-effectiveness address the rationale behind this humongous demand, only a few demerits like insufficient energy production during nighttime and high volume of occupied land by the solar panels are available to highlight. To begin with, solar energy compared to fossil fuels or traditional energy sources produces pure electricity that is devoid of hazardous environmental impacts, drawing massive public attention along with appreciation by Government agencies. Furthermore, Global warming is the biggest setback of today's modern world, posing a formidable threat to human existence. In order to decrease the negative impact of traditional energy production, solar energy production is arguably the most feasible alternative to compact the rising CO2 levels in the atmosphere. Therefore, with the help of radiation received from the Sun, we harness a considerable amount of electricity to supply the entire energy demand in some countries, placing it as an indispensable alternative in this matter. It is worth noting that renewable energy sources like solar power are environmentally friendly and help Government bodies combat the biggest challenges of the last century. For example, the importance of solar energy was particularly mentioned in the Paris International Treaty, thus, major oil&gas producers are now switching towards solar energy, Despite solar energy having a big appetite for sustainable energy production, the production capacity reaches substantially lower throughputs during the night and cloudy weather conditions. Consequently, it will drive the price of 1kVa energy production to a higher level due to the existing fixed cost disadvantage during the lower throughput. Another salient drawback is that the surface area of land mass required to assemble and operate solar power panels is super large and it creates an artificial land shortage in the market. In conclusion, solar energy is an unparalleled opportunity for the sustainability of our future world. Whilst solar power offers multitudinous advantages for people to generate renewable energy without polluting the environment, solely the inefficient electricity generation during the clumsy weather conditions and large volume of land mass required for the solar power plants are infamous shortcomings of this energy.