Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, an array of masses is living abroad for various reasons. However, they face many difficulties with speaking another language, and this brings crucial issues, whether social or practical. I strongly agree with this notion and in this essay, I will shed light on my viewpoints. To begin with, the major social problem that occurs due to language barriers is with making friends, because friendship with local people needs more than just a basic grasp of the native language. Due to a lack of good communication in foreign languages, people find difficulty in making sound relationships with their neighbours and colleagues, which makes them feel isolated and hence may cause mental problems like depression and anxiety. For instance, immigrants who have difficulty understanding the English language feel overwhelmed with English information, are unable to follow any public speech or any group conversation, and seem helpless to understand their cultural values. In addition, people also confront many practical challenges. One of the major issues people face is while travelling. Since bus stop signs are written in the native language, people with problems in the local language do not understand where to get off the bus. Besides, immigrants face difficulties in healthcare and legal services. Due to weak communication, people find themselves unable to explain their diseases to the doctor or any legal injustice they are facing to their lawyer. For example, in China, all the road signposts are written in the Chinese language, and the language they use for official purposes is only Chinese, so immigrants who lack good knowledge of the Chinese language face many practical issues. To conclude, I believe that people encounter many social and practical issues in other countries due to less proficiency in the local language, and the government should provide suitable support to them for tackling such problems.