“In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?”

Although numerous of them prefer to stay alone these days in a number of countries rather than with family and this trend is increasing now than in the past. In my perspective, living isolated can lead to consequences more than staying with someone. Looking at the benefits of living by themselves is that a person minimizes expenses and saves numerous money. These days wages are less and expenditures are more. Moreover, it becomes an unnecessary burden since not all are of the same likes and dislikes. It frequently leads to conflicts among each other and can cause detrimental effects like domestic violence in the house. For example, according to The Housing Council, 65% of people consider the option of single housing due to the fact they can make the standard of living like previously. However, on the other hand, humans also have social behaviours. They always want to be surrounded by people from the beginning. In other words, it has adverse effects like an individual suffers from depression since they are alone and have no one to talk with. Additionally, if they feel sick, they ought to manage on their own, which becomes frustrating. For instance, according to The World Health Organization, they say on average 80% of the population suffers from mental illness since there is no one to talk to and share the burden. As a result, numerous of them prefer to stay near family or with friends, consequently that the need arises that there should be someone with them. In contrast, living alone still brings back more negatives than positives. Living alone can improve the quality of anyone’s life, but in many cases, it coincidently increases the risk of causing depression due to the fact there is no one to have a conversation with. Thus, the health problem is much more critical than others and living alone is the main cause of psychological effects. To conclude, these days, a plethora of people want to live alone and that’s the individual's choice. However, it is essential that humans together have alleviated the consequences. Despite bringing back the positive side, I still think living alone gives more negatives to people.