In many cities an increasing number of people do not know their neighbours and there is a lack of sense of community. What are the causes of this problem? How can it be solved?

A community is often formed by people who have something in common, living in the same building. Unfortunately, during the last decade creating a community of neighbours has become more difficult. There are several reasons that helped to create this problem. In this essay, I will describe some of them with their possible solutions. Firstly, people overall in big cities tend to have limited time to meet their neighbours. This phenomenon increases the possibility to find meet their neighbours become impossible. As a matter of fact, when someone asks them if they know with whom they live around, they usually answer negatively and barely show any interest in knowing other people in the same place. One way to solve this tendency might be asking them to meet once every month and make them sign contracts of less than one year. Moreover, nowadays, people are becoming more shy, probably because of the advent of social media. For this reason, they are not confident meeting their neighbours. Organizing periodic meetings between neighbours could be an efficient way to create a community of people and maybe a friendship between them. In conclusion, in a society in which people tend to move a lot and are sometimes negatively influenced by social media is difficult to create a community between neighbours. However, by working on new laws regarding the duration of location contracts and pushing people to meet periodically, it is possible to contrast this tendency and build a community of neighbours and perhaps friends.