More and more business meetings are taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for this trend?

In recent years, attending meetings online instead of offline has become a common practice. Since the break of the Covid pandemic in 2020, people are encouraged to meet directly less often. As a result, an advantage and a disadvantage can be observed from it. Both will be discussed further in this essay. One advantage to online gatherings is that it makes it feasible for people who have limited mobility to join. When making an appointment to see someone, individuals often need to travel to arrive at the agreed place at a certain time. When the process takes place online, traveling is no longer needed and it can happen at the time all participants are free. Consequently, this makes it easier for the attendees. For instance, this can be true for individuals with physical disabilities or obligations to take care of sick or old relatives at home. Conversely, due to not seeing each other face to face, it can be harder to establish trust. Seeing faces and being able to observe body language directly might make us more at ease and more convinced of one's good intentions. As a consequence, communication might flow better and mutual understanding can be gained faster between all parties involved. For example, as counselling sessions are conducted online these days, patients might find it harder to trust their psychologists and divulge their issues comfortably. In conclusion, meetings being held online enable people to attend with more ease, especially those with limited mobility. However, not seeing attendees directly can make it more difficult to gain trust, avoid miscommunication and reach mutual understanding.