Some people believe that having a pet such as a cat or a dog helps older people live a more enjoyable life and try to stay healthier. How do you think older people benefit from having a pet? Do you think there is a problem with older people having pets? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people argue that having a pet such as a cat or a dog supports older adults to live a more enjoyable life and try to stay healthier. I believe that it brings a positive impact on their mental and physical health. In contrast, they are required to think about the duration of having their pets and to plan for emergencies. When elderly individuals communicate and go out with a pet, they would have positive thoughts and tend to walk outside, giving a happy mind and staying healthier. Increasing opportunities to go out, they move a lot, and they might talk to somebody who is a neighbour or a stranger. For instance, my grandmother usually stayed home and was short on physical strength. Since having a dog, she began to go out with her dog and laughed a lot. Hence, having a pet brings older adults a positive effect on their mental and physical health. On the other hand, older people with a pet should consider how long they have it and plan for emergencies. They need to concern about what they do in specific situations, such as when the pet gets sick and takes the pet to an animal hospital and when they have an emergency condition. The data from the National Survey shows that 90% of over 75 age people have problems to care their pets. Before something happens which could be predicted, they should have plans to have a pet. In conclusion, there are benefits to having a pet for older adults’ mental and physical health. However, they need to consider the duration of keeping their pets and what they would do when they and the pets get sick.