Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a myriad of views about the usage of learning foreign languages. Although some people may think that it is only for travelling or working aboard, I personally believe that it can enhance communication with foreign customers or business owners which aids in career progression. Of the reasons why people eager to learn a foreign language for their travel or work aboard, probably the most significant reason is that knowing how to speak local languages is fosters communication with local people, which is essential for living. Speaking the local languages, you can communicate with the locals without any language barriers, which means you can easier to ask for help in solving the problems that face in your daily life. Ranging from Japanese, Korea, Italy and French, are the countries that regard English not as their official language. This in turn that using your mother language or even English are hard to speak with those locals and which causes difficulties daily. Consequently, knowing how to speak their languages is crucial for living in other countries both for working and studying. Despite the reason of studying foreign languages can be positive in travelling and working out of my hometown, I personally believe that having the ability to speak in other languages is crucial for career progression. It is known that employers require their employees to have good working attitudes as well as proficiency in languages. Therefore, knowing foreign languages aid in communicating and promoting your ideas to customers or colleagues who are from other countries, which is creating opportunities to show your ability in work. It enhances your competitiveness compared with other colleagues. With this in mind, knowing other languages except your mother language can be advantageous for showing your ability in work and enhancing your career development. With this in mind, although it is crucial for the knowledge in speaking foreign languages when living in other countries, I personally believe that people should better learn it for their career progression.