Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Due primarily to the fact that people are capable of buying similar products around the globe, countries are getting more similar to one another. My firm conviction, however, is that this might result in losing cultural diversity, and moreover, it might be a threat to the countries that are dependent on the tourism industry. Therefore, I believe this is a negative development. One serious problem that can arise from globalization is that many cultural identities might be overshadowed by global brands. In other words, local industries would be eroded if people bought the same products. As a result, the cultural heritage would be disappeared, and people would encounter losses of cultural diversity. Another issue is that with the global market predominating over local products, there would be no purpose for people to travel, and hence, the countries whose source of income is tourism might be damaged severely. More precisely, one of the most important reasons for visiting other countries is becoming familiar with their products as well as their culture. Consequently, if these products were gone, people would not be passionate about traveling to other countries, and as a consequence, governments would become vulnerable to economic issues. In conclusion, with all countries similar to each other, caused by people buying the same goods anywhere, many critical problems, such as cultural-diversity-related problems and economic issues, would arise. Thus, in my opinion, I have to agree that this is a negative development.