Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

The development of business has undeniably led to a proliferation of advertising on various forms of media. Personally, I believe that this phenomenon is both positive and negative. On the one hand, there are three main benefits of advertising to society. To begin with, thanks to commercials, customers can be informed of newly launched products and services. In other words, they are aware of the array of selections available that align with their preferences and needs; otherwise, they are confined to only a narrow range of products. Another noticeable advantage is that companies can reach their potential consumers, capturing more market shares and business growth. In addition, the expansion of advertising can create far-reaching employment opportunities, ranging from design to photography and content writing. On a larger scale, advertising serves as a bridge between manufacturers and buyers, expanding business opportunities and raising living standards. On the other hand, it is important to acknowledge the negative aspects of advertising. Firstly, deceptive advertising practices can mislead consumers and result in dissatisfaction when products do not meet expectations. This is evident in advertisements for skincare products which are all advertised as being able to boost genes and make skin look visibly younger within just one week. However, there are no studies proving that they have abilities to do such things. Secondly, the persuasive nature of advertising can tempt people to make unnecessary purchases or acquire things that they do not really need. This trend can lead to consumerism and potentially waste consumption. For example, it has been observed that the young generation nowadays spends a huge amount of money unconsciously buying fashion items such as clothing, shoes and bags. This can be explained by the extensive exposure to advertisements available on social media like Facebook and TikTok. In conclusion, although advertising has certain benefits to society, it also involves deceptions and compulsive consumption. Striking a balance between the benefits of advertising and its drawbacks is essential and responsible advertising practices that prioritize transparency should be encouraged.