In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food or use animal products, for instance, clothing and medicines. To what extend do you agree or disagree

As modern technology has developed, many people think it is unnecessary for us to gain nutrients, medicines and clothing from any other creatures. I agree that now we do not have to hunt for the purpose of survival, but we still need food and medicines from domestic fowls and cattle in a bid to keep a nutritious diet. On the one hand, we should shoulder the responsibility to maintain biodiversity, which plays a key role in developing a sustainable world that is beneficial to everyone on the planet. In the past, inhabitants made an effort to prey on as many wild creatures as they could, thus struggling to get rid of hunger and protect themselves from the cold. Nowadays, driven by the development of farming and modern technologies, humans are able to satisfy their basic needs from other sources, instead of hunting. As a result, animals should no longer fall victim to dishes on our dining tables and clothes covering our bodies. If we cannot reverse the trend, the increasing number of endangered species would become extinct just like the dodo, which, the beautiful bird that we can only see in pictures, died out centuries ago on account of human activities. On the other hand, in a bid to source more nutrition, human beings still need to raise some domestic animals such as chickens and beef, which can not only make our diet nutritious, but can function as a pillar of the local economy in many countries, say, Australia, Brazil, etc. If everyone becomes vegetarians across the globe, millions of employees will lose their jobs and we may face food shortages when agriculture cannot produce enough crops. Moreover, even if we can stop wearing clothes made of furs, many scientific researchers have to utilise white mice, and other creatures to obtain important data, thus saving more lives from those discoveries. No one wants to replace them as guinea pigs, which will definitely violate human rights. In conclusion, while we should protect most animals from extinction, therefore sustaining a diversified world, it is necessary to sacrifice some of them to meet our demands.