Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel, or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

The Gap Year Gap A gap year is what many fresh school graduates resort to instead of directly joining a university the next September. Some believe this gap year is necessary to acquire experience, both in life and the subject a student desires to study. I believe this depends on many situations, for example how the student plans to spend their gap year. Indeed, a student needs time to recharge after a long, demanding senior year of late night studying and endless chains of tests. However, this need not be done by having an entire year of fun traveling, which is what most students end up doing. Three months are more than enough if spent the right way. Many students believe that a whole year of rest might enable them to enter university in a relaxed state, with a clear mind. What they will not see coming is that, yes, their minds will be truly devoid of anything they studied the past year. It will be quite difficult for students to regain their academic motivation and fall back into the school routine. Moreover, the yearlong holiday will be almost impossible to let go of, understandably! On the other hand, if instead of sitting back and relaxing all year long, a student utilizes a gap year, then I support this with all my being. Utilizing a gap year looks like reading books about the field one is aiming to study in, adopting healthy habits, getting a job that will help in a CV, or even learning a new language. Basically, establishing a strong foundation for one to flourish in university years, with the addition of anything that will appeal to companies, in a CV. Accomplishing things that could be the point of difference between two excellent workers in a particular field, whether that be an extra language, experience with computers, or even networking skills. Consequently, one will essentially have a head start on their fellow colleagues in university. The journey one embarks on will likely be smoother than anticipated. Having some kind of knowledge on a subject before actually studying it, gives a student a boost of confidence and self assurance. In conclusion, my support for a gap year depends on how this gap year is spent, as it fully defines whether it was worthwhile or not. In the case of a gap year being Change the form of the verb is show examples spent in a student ’s favor academically, it has my support. However, I am not all for a year of fun that can easily demotivate students.