City planners tend to arrange schools, homes, shops and offices in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

To make urban areas run more efficiently, some administrations choose to designate different areas for different purposes such as dwelling, schooling and working. I think, if planned well, the merits of this policy outweigh the demerits. A reasonable plan can make the city better fulfil its functions and facilitate its development. For example, some streets have a long history of doing trade and business, with various kinds of shops, restaurants and hotels gathered in certain places. It can be easily developed into a business zone that attracts large numbers of local customers and tourists. Also, if different departments of the government were centralized, it would be easy for them to cooperate and provide a one-stop service for citizens. In addition, planning the urban area according to functionalities can create a good living environment for the public and improve their life quality. Well-planned housing areas, which are built far from the industrial zone, make people less influenced by noise and air pollution. When planning the residence, administrators will consider the construction of supporting facilities such as hospitals, schools and supermarkets, where they are located not far from residential complexes in order to satisfy dwellers’ needs. The main problem with separating the city into different parts is that people need to travel a distance from one place to another in their daily lives. This is likely to cause traffic jams, particularly from the housing area to the workplace during rush hours. However, this problem could be addressed by building more public transportation to alleviate congestion such as subway, light railway, etc., or encouraging remote work from home, which cannot only improve efficiency but save cost and effort. Overall, I think if the city could be arranged according to different functions, it would bring more benefits to both governments and individuals.