• In the developed world, technological progress is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of radical technological advancements.

Technical development brings us many benefits in our daily life e.g. faster communication, efficient logistics, job opportunities etc. However, the rapid change in technology also lead to negative impact on individuals and society from economic and social perspectives. Measures can be taken to alleviate the problem brought by technological development. While technological improvement creates job opportunities in society, many jobs with manual and repetitive in nature are being diminished. People who have low educational levels and work in low-tech industries are prone to unemployment nowadays. For example, the assembly work in the car production industry is replaced by machinery. Some restaurants use roberts to replace waiters. To conclude technical progress affects individuals who lack education and cannot adopt t the changing employment market. From the social perspective, the advancement in technology widens the gap between the rich and poor. Technical giants e.g. Google, Meta, Bing etc, have the dominant advantage in controlling the technical resources. For example, Google dominates the search engine and streaming platform in the world. It inresults other enterprises’ reliance on them on promoting their business. Local and small companies which may not have access to technological resources cannot have an edge in the market and may be easily eliminated. The great improvement in technology also brings illegal activities, for example, the advancement in social media nurtures cross-border scams and human trafficking. There are recent reports that youngsters get to know criminals on the Internet to find job opportunities overseas but was kidnapped in south-east Asian countries. With technological development, criminals cannot be easily cracked down as they use specialised applications and to remove their trace on the internet. The government should impose better regulations which align with the technological development and serve the society nowadays. Technological companies are encouraged to provide education of technology to underprivileged families and elderlies so as to help them to adapt to the technology development To conclude, there are upsides and downsides of rapid technological development for individuals and society. We can embrace the benefit brought by technological advancement through better regulation and cooperation in the community