Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Presently, with the advent of modern medical services, people are getting older. Whilst some economists laud having experienced citizens, others have a diverse perspective. However, it is believed that pensioners represent a heavy burden for legislators. In the following lines, the previously-mentioned points will be thoroughly elaborated. On the one hand, it is unequivocally true that having a great number of senior employees is beneficial due to their long experience in their respective fields. In other words, the older an individual gets, the more skilful he/she will become. For example, Japan is renowned for its old workers, and its organisations prefer hiring senior personnel to recruit young ones due to their expertise. Hence, what can be deduced is that many firms opt for elderlies because of their comprehensive skills. On the other hand, having a great number of people over 60 years old may have dire consequences for a country’s economy. This means that when a nation has an ageing population, it has to incur heavy financial costs for healthcare and pensions. For instance, Egypt pays a great amount of its budget to support its pensioners. In addition to that, senior citizens are less energetic and they tend to struggle with modern technology. Thus, what can be inferred is that not only do old individuals represent a financial constraint on governments, but they are also less productive compared to future generations. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that the merits of having old citizens do not exceed its demerits. Although pensioners can have a great amount of knowledge, they may impede a state from progressing due to their age and unfamiliarity with the latest developments.