Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Being a resident of a foreign country, you have no choice but to speak in a foreign language to communicate with natives. I wholeheartedly believe that this can put non-natives in predicaments such as social isolation along with the inability to convey the right information in a real-life context. One of the major problems posed by not having appropriate language skills to establish connections in a foreign country is social segregation. various linguistic features, namely phrases and idioms, are used to help foreigners interact effectively with the locals. Thus, being unfamiliar with them, a person fails to respond to what is heard properly, gradually making them less involved in conversations. This, in turn, provokes a sense of seclusion from society. An Arab immigrant, who does not have a good command of English, for instance, when going to an English- speaking country, is unable to react to the indigenous people’s questions and humors and little by little becomes socially reserved. Another issue concerned with the unfamiliarity with a foreign language is being misunderstood in situations in which language is the only means of communication. The terminology employed in each realm empowers people to describe their requests or thoughts with clarity. Since the lack of such expressions deters foreigners from accurately conveying the information, misunderstanding frequently occurs. Health-related vocabulary by which a foreign patient can clarify their disease to the local physician is a good example; wrong diagnoses and prescriptions are the consequences of the patient’s incapability of using the proper words and phrases to explain the pain. To conclude, I think that people face social and daily challenges because of their linguistic illiteracy in an environment where another language is predominantly spoken.