Some people believe that all children should learn second language from the time they start school, while others believe that it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both views and give Your opinion

Owing to the irreversible trend of globalization, people are motivated to learn foreign languages for overseas travel and study. Some argue that students should acquire a second language once they attend school whilst others contend that they should start during secondary school. It is obvious that learning a second language early in earlier childhood can enhance students ’ international competitiveness in both academic and career aspects. On the contrary, the amount of time can be invested in sensory motor development if young kids start learning foreign languages during secondary education, leading to better holistic development. From my perspective, I believe that the two ideations stand their ground, depending on the parenting styles. Undoubtedly, language abilities such as speaking and writing skills are inherently important assets for people who pursue international study and overseas employment. Take Hong Kong as an example, English is a core subject in the standard proper education system, which requires students to learn as early as in kindergartens. Most of the learners in Hong Kong need to go through intensive English training during their study journeys. As a result, the majority of Hong Kong students are capable of using Chinese and English upon graduation, leading to a solid bilingual background for them to strike for better chances in employment in multinational companies and to study abroad, such as the United States and the United Kingdom. (compared to neighbouring cities such as those Japan, Korea, China and Taiwan, HK students speak better English because they start it at an early stage On the flip side, instead of a new language, parents can focus on the sensory-motor training, which is valuable for the early development in child’s the infancy stage. For example, an increasing numbers of parents nowadays tend to provide training in swimming for toddlers because this sport can effectively build up their physical strength and coordination between body muscles, sensory systems and concentration ability. Apart from learning new languages, the development of these abilities can not be overlooked and the delay of language learning, when compared to a holistic development, can be deemed a reasonable action. To sum up, both sides of this topic are supported by legitimate arguments about the advantages of their stands. Personally, I support that parents should let their children learn in the best interest of early childhood development, instead of blindly following either side. (blindly follow suit/ due to peer and social pressure)