Most people agree that money cannot buy happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

Whether money can buy happiness has been an ongoing debate for many years. Happiness is one of the most difficult emotions to define as there are multiple factors which determine one’s contentment in life. I will be proposing a few ideas on how one can achieve happiness. Firstly, we have to define what is happiness? For some it may be family, for others it is having abundant wealth. Therefore, the meaning of happiness is incredibly difficult to determine. Moreover, in recent studies, multiple factors have been used to attempt to define happiness. These include, living conditions, wealth, family, etc. For example, a poorer person in Africa may not have wealth, but have family which gives them enough happiness. This is why some of these studies are not reliable but may be able to give some indication of how happiness can be measured. There are some ways people can be happier. The main way would be to prioritise what makes them happy. As discussed above, this can vary from person to person. Moreover, a big reason people are not happy in modern society is that their focus is always on what they don’t have as opposed to what they do have. Consequently, making them feel empty and dissatisfied with life. Therefore, being grateful is a key factor to achieve happiness and practicing being grateful can be quite simple. For example, every morning, people can write down three things they are grateful for before starting their day. In conclusion, happiness is very personal and may have a different meaning to each person. Being able to identify what makes a person happy and focusing on that would be the way to achieve happiness. There are no set parameters so everyone’s journey is different.