More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the implementation of a work “anywhere” policy among employees has risen compared to the traditional office environment. I believe that this recent change is advantageous for both the employers and the employees. In line with this topic, it has been proven that the opportunity to work from home or remotely has a positive impact on employee productivity as it removes the hassle of commuting to the office. For instance, in the Philippines, the poor public transport system has been a source of stress and exhaustion for workers as the limited availability of jeepneys or buses forced Filipinos to either run after jeepneys or stand in buses until they reach their workplace. These experiences before arriving at their offices result in decreased productivity as tiredness may cloud their decision-making skills and intellectual acuity. Furthermore, the flexibility to work anywhere removes the geographical limitation of hiring personnel residing near the workplace. Hence, remote working also creates workforce diversity as hiring the best candidate for the role is possible even if that person lives in another continent. For instance, an Australian construction company hires Filipino engineers for their skills and expertise provided that they will undergo certain certifications to easily adapt to the innovations of the Australian engineering field. This is a beneficial situation for both the employer and the employee as the former can hire the best engineer and the latter can earn Australian dollars while residing in the Philippines. On the contrary, the setup of working remotely may lead to social disadvantages such as reduced social interactions between co-workers. This may create internal tensions as deeper connections among the staff are not being established, thus creating a communication and relationship barrier among co-workers. However, this may be resolved by creating game nights and team-building events to help foster office relationships. In conclusion, I believe that working remotely is advantageous for both the employer and the employee as it boosts productivity and aids the employers in hiring the most suitable candidate.