Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Presently, the possession of vehicles has not become limited to affluent individuals due to modern technology which facilitates production at a lower cost. Although many economists laud this, environmentalists hold a diverse perspective. However, I am of the stance that owning motorcars has a malignant effect on the environment, state involvement can be the panacea for this. In the following lines, the previously-mentioned points will be thoroughly elaborated. To embark on, recent technological development has led to the reduction of costs and the increase in productivity. In other words, when international organisations utilise their financial capabilities to purchase fully automated production lines, they boost their rate of production and decrease their expenditures. For example, Toyota, a renowned Japanese brand, is well-known for its exploitation of its expertise to produce cars with satisfactory quality and a relatively lower price. Hence, what can be deduced is that new technology is the chief rationale behind producing cars at an industrial scale and making them affordable to the populace. Nevertheless, there are a number of remedies for this. If governments launch awareness campaigns to highlight the dangers of exhaust fumes and introduce profound communal transportation networks, the public will place their reliance on trains and buses because they are environmentally-friendly. For instance, despite the high-income of German citizens, many of them prefer using public transportation systems to taking their private vehicles to less air pollution. Thus, what can be inferred is that legislators should alter the behaviour of their citizenry by introducing other alternatives. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that the abundance of vehicles at a lower price is the predominant factor that encourages ordinary individuals to own cars. In my view, the interference of politicians is of utmost importance to mitigate the impact of this malicious trend.