Air travel should be restricted because of pollution and uses up the world's fuel.Do you agree or disagree ?

In the modern era, air travel is by far the most popular form of travel over long distances. Due to the increase in demand, some individuals believe that this form of travel should be limited due to the environmental pollution and the fact that it is diminishing the world’s resources. I firmly believe that the industry should continue to grow to meet demand. There is no doubt that as the global market for air travel grows so will the pollution. Therefore, the air we breathe will be less pure and the noise produced would harm our ears over time. Moreover, the large amounts of fuel being used on the aircraft that could potentially be used elsewhere. However, individuals would still need to travel to other countries. Consequently, the fuel and pollution produced by these inconvenient journeys would far exceed the resources used by a traditional airplane. Travelling by air is the safest form of travel. Therefore, having less flights would increase the number of vehicle collisions, leading to more deaths which would be a disadvantage to any society. For example, a family travelling eight hours by car as opposed to two hours by air are at a much higher risk of being in an accident. Not to mention the rise in traffic congestion which would lead to each trip taking longer, in turn causing more pollution and wasting more fuel. In conclusion, air travel is becoming more efficient as time goes on. The travel alternatives to these trips, especially long-haul flights are just not viable on a regular basis. In my opinion, air travel needs to be expanded not restricted.