Some people think schools should group pupils according to their academic ability, but others believe pupils with different abilities should be educated together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Different academic abilities exist among students, according to discipline, intelligence, and hard work. Some schools believe students should be grouped into different levels, depending on academic performance, while others disagree. In my view, this should never happen, as it induces numerous issues in both classes. The following paragraphs will explore both sides of the argument and highlight why I support one side. Indeed, overachievers feel underwhelmed when faced with the workload average pupils receive. It simply does not satisfy them to know they have locked potential, all due to their fellow classmates’ inability to match their own standards. Above average students tend to feel more hungry for knowledge, looking for an actual challenge, which is somewhat understandable. By dividing a class into two, that could be achieved. Instant fiery competitiveness is induced between the overachieving classmates. Likewise, longer hours of teaching the academically average group makes a lot of sense, to ensure they understood the topic and to address any questions they may have. In addition to that, the A+ group can be introduced to advanced level topics, in order to fully unleash their potential, and satisfy their hunger for knowledge. On the other hand, new problems show up once a class of supposedly the same grade, is split up into two categories. This, essentially, implies to the classmates that there is a superior group and a dumb one. Consequently, members of the “dumb class” will feel inadequate, and immediately lose self-esteem and thus, their motivation. On top of that, the upper division will most likely adopt a superiority complex that leads to looking down upon their peers. A larger workload of homework is bound to inspire a feeling of unfairness among the lower level, as well as applying pressure on the higher level to naturally acquire that knowledge without the same amount of homework. To make the situation further complicated, not every school can afford paying double the salary for each grade. In conclusion, natural excellence is a blessing and a curse in disguise. While the academically blessed may score large numbers in tests, they feel bored being in the same classroom as less fortunate peers. Dividing the two solves that, while causing even greater problems, such as insecurity or lack of motivation. My opinion, ultimately, is that splitting colleagues of the same grade into two is harmful more than is helpful.