Today, more people are living longer after they retire from work. What problems will it cause for individuals and society? What can be done to prevent it

As average life expectancy rises, citizens are living longer and longer after retirement, which poses several problems for both individuals and society. In my opinion, these tensions can be remedied through governmental actions. Dwellers retiring older may lead to conflicts between generations and an increased burden on a societal level. For the young, the process of fully integrating the elderly into society can be challenging. For example, many senior citizens have quieter lifestyles and thus disputes may arise with younger individuals who are in the habit of hosting loud parties or coming home late at night, particularly in cases where the young are taking care of older relatives. The strain on public services can also be great as the elderly require more medical support to treat conditions ranging from cancer to heart disease. This translates to a greater proportion of taxes going to the older generation and even fosters societal resentment and ageism. The best fixes for these problems can be achieved by governments. Firstly, governments can ease the integration of generations by providing better retirement plans. For example, in Nordic countries such as Norway and Denmark, social security benefits are enough to cover retirement, so that senior citizens don’t need to depend on their children. Secondly, governments must be more conscientious in planning for more substantial medical expenses. For example, the government should set aside more funds to research and apply advanced treatments for retirees well into their 80s. These measures combined would alleviate some of the weight of supporting older populations. In conclusion, the pressures resulting from growth in the average life span can be countered with forward-thinking governmental policies. This will become increasingly important in the future as people live even longer.