As science and technology contribute most to the development of society, science students should get more financial support from government than students in other fields (eg. business, language, etc.). To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is glaring that scientific and technological innovations are the major sectors that contribute to the rapid developments experienced in society, therefore, students in these fields should enjoy more financial incentives from the government over those in other fields. I strongly agree with this take because infrastructural advancement forms the backbone of a progressive economy. To begin, the area of science and technology needs more academic grants from the local authorities for training and research compared to others for a few reasons. One is that they are the driving force of any nation. That is, a scientifically advanced country is a developed country. Therefore, investments from the government would help to keep them expanding thereby leading to further developments. Also, scientific researches help to provide sustainable solutions to a mirage of problems in every sector. An important instance is in the area of medicine. Over the years, several cures were able to be found for a wide range of illnesses as a result of efforts made by scientists, hence, keeping people healthier than before. Furthermore, Improvements in technology in many parts of the world have enhanced the quality of living among several individuals. For example, advancements in transportation systems cannot be understated. People can now travel in fast-moving trains and aircraft to any part of the world in a few hours. Additionally, the movement of goods and services is now seamless which has positively enhanced the growth of several countries economically. In view of the above points, I totally agree with the view that more funds should be put into grooming undergraduates especially those in the area of science and technology as they clearly contribute to the positive development of any nation.