Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss.

In most of the countries, imprisonment is a common form of punishment for offenders. From petty crimes like stealing cars, to severe charges like murder, prison is usually where these criminals are sent to. In my opinion, however, I do not agree that prison is always the answer to criminal issues and this essay will discuss the reasons behind my argument. Firstly, most of the criminals are sentenced to jail for minor offences like shoplifting or car-jacking. They can be less dangerous to society than other serious offenders. Therefore, community service would be a better option to punish the offenders and make compensation to the victims as well. Take shoplifting as an example, the shoplifter should be sentenced to work at the targeted shop for months instead of staying in jail. Secondly, many petty crimes offenders in prison commit crimes due to financial instability. In many cases, the lack of job opportunity and financial support in low income communities tempt people to commit an offence. Thus, mandatory education and vocational training are a more effective solution than doing time. For instance, sentencing vocational training and assisting offenders to look for jobs to support themselves in a respectful and legal manner. On the other hand, prison can be necessary for those who are a danger to others safety, such as murderers and domestic violence offenders. Some may deserve to be locked up for life, while some for a shorter period of time. In conclusion, although prison is the most common punishment, it is not the best for all criminals. I believe it is the best solution for serious crime offenders. Nevertheless, community service and education are better alternatives for other less severe lawbreakers. As a result, it will reduce the chance of re-offending in the future and improve life quality for all citizens.